Species of Thailand

Long-nosed whip snake

Ahaetulla nasuta, Bernard Germain Étienne comte de La Ville-sur-Illon La Cépède, 1789

(In Thai: งูเขียวปากแหนบ, ngu khiaow pak naenb)

Site notes

The Thai population of what once was Ahaetulla nasuta is unclear since Mallik et al. 2020 reviewed the species based on genetic analysis of the Indian and Sri Lankan populations. The population in South East Asia needs further research for clarification.

Scientific classification

Ahaetulla nasuta

Common names

  • German:
    • Nasenpeitschennatter
    • Baumschnüffler
  • English:
    • Long-nosed whip snake
    • Long-nosed vine snake
    • Long-nosed tree snake
    • Green vine snake
  • Thai: งูเขียวปากแหนบ, ngu khiaow pak naenb


  • Ahaetulla nasuta, Van Stanley Bartholomew Wallach et al. (2014)
  • Ahaetulla nautus sic, Vyas (2007)
  • Ahaetulla nasutus, R.C. Sharma (2004)
  • Ahaetulla nasuta, Merel J. Cox et al. (1998)
  • Ahaetulla nasuta, Ulrich Manthey & Wolfgang Grossmann (1997)
  • Dryophis nasutus, Malcolm Arthur Smith (1943)
  • Passerita nasuta, Doris Mable Cochran (1930)
  • Dryophis mycterizans rhodonotus, Frank Wall (1921)
  • Dryophis mycterizans isabellinus, Frank Wall (1910)
  • Dryophis mycterizans lepidorostralis, Frank Wall (1908)


Please help us review our species pages if wrong photos are used or any other details in the page is wrong. We can be reached via our Facebook group or contact us page.

Ahaetulla nasuta - Khao Sam Roi Yot NP
Ahaetulla nasuta (with pointy nose) - Nong Phai District, Phetchabun
Ahaetulla nasuta
Ahaetulla nasuta (juvenile) - Kaeng Krachan District, Phetchaburi
Ahaetulla nasuta - Prachantakham District, Prachin Buri
Ahaetulla nasuta - Prachantakham District, Prachin Buri
Ahaetulla nasuta - Huai Yang Waterfall NP

Range Map

Distribution map of Long-nosed whip snake, Ahaetulla nasuta in Thailand
  • Aranyaprathet District, Sa Kaeo
  • Ban Bueng District, Chonburi
  • Ban Lat District, Phetchaburi
  • Ban Mai Chaiyaphot District, Buriram
  • Bang Bo District, Samut Prakan
  • Bang Bon District, Bangkok
  • Bang Khen District, Bangkok
  • Bang Khla District, Chachoengsao
  • Bang Khun Thian District, Bangkok
  • Bang Kruai District, Nonthaburi
  • Bang Lamung District, Chonburi
  • Bang Len District, Nakhon Pathom
  • Bang Pa In District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
  • Bang Phlat District, Bangkok
  • Bang Sao Thong District, Samut Prakan
  • Bang Yai District, Nonthaburi
  • Cha-Am District, Phetchaburi
  • Chatuchak District, Bangkok
  • Chiang Khong District, Chiang Rai
  • Chom Thong District, Chiang Mai
  • Chum Phuang District, Nakhon Ratchasima
  • Doi Saket District, Chiang Mai
  • Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Huai Yang Waterfall National Park
  • Kaeng Krachan District, Phetchaburi
  • Kaeng Krachan National Park
  • Kaeng Sanam Nang District, Nakhon Ratchasima
  • Kaset Sombun District, Chaiyaphum
  • Khao Nang Phanthurat Forest Park
  • Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park
  • Khao Yai National Park
  • Khlong Luang District, Pathum Thani
  • Khok Samrong District, Lopburi
  • Krathum Baen District, Samut Sakhon
  • Kui Buri District, Prachuap Khiri Khan
  • Lao Khwan District, Kanchanaburi
  • Lat Krabang District, Bangkok
  • Mae Tha, Lampang District, Lampang
  • Min Buri District, Bangkok
  • Muak Lek District, Saraburi
  • Mueang Chachoengsao District, Chachoengsao
  • Mueang Chonburi District, Chonburi
  • Mueang Kanchanaburi District, Kanchanaburi
  • Mueang Nakhon Ratchasima District, Nakhon Ratchasima
  • Mueang Nakhon Sawan District, Nakhon Sawan
  • Mueang Nonthaburi District, Nonthaburi
  • Mueang Pathum Thani District, Pathum Thani
  • Mueang Phetchaburi District, Phetchaburi
  • Mueang Phichit District, Phichit
  • Mueang Phitsanulok District, Phitsanulok
  • Mueang Prachinburi District, Prachinburi
  • Mueang Prachuap Khiri Khan District, Prachuap Khiri Khan
  • Mueang Ratchaburi District, Ratchaburi
  • Mueang Samut Prakan District, Samut Prakan
  • Mueang Samut Sakhon District, Samut Sakhon
  • Mueang Sukhothai District, Sukhothai
  • Nang Rong District, Buriram
  • Ngao District, Lampang
  • Nong Chok District, Bangkok
  • Nong Phai District, Phetchabun
  • Nong Ya Plong District, Phetchaburi
  • Phanat Nikhom District, Chonburi
  • Phra Pradaeng District, Samut Prakan
  • Phu Khiao District, Chaiyaphum
  • Phutthamonthon District, Nakhon Pathom
  • Pla Pak District, Nakhon Phanom
  • Pluak Daeng District, Rayong
  • Prachantakham District, Prachinburi
  • Rat Burana District, Bangkok
  • Sai Mai District, Bangkok
  • Sai Yok District, Kanchanaburi
  • Sam Khok District, Pathum Thani
  • Sam Phran District, Nakhon Pathom
  • Sam Roi Yot District, Prachuap Khiri Khan
  • Saraphi District, Chiang Mai
  • Sattahip District, Chonburi
  • Si Maha Phot District, Prachinburi
  • Sung Noen District, Nakhon Ratchasima
  • Taling Chan District, Bangkok
  • Thawi Watthana District, Bangkok
  • Uthai District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
  • Wang Noi District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
  • Wang Thong District, Phitsanulok
Range map of Ahaetulla nasuta in Thailand

We have created a micro website to show daily statistics over snake observation logs collected from a few Facebook groups. It is possible to see some detailed statistics and download data free for research or any other purpose. Follow this link to open the site.